© Phalaris Project 2013-2017 - Last updated July 8, 2017 First associated and labeled the "Triple Crown" in 1930 by Charles Hatton, the Kentucky Derby, Preakness and Belmont are treated as the classic races of the United States. Various other triples - including the WIthers, Belmont and Lawrence Realization triple that was much more analogous to the original British Triple Crown in distances and scheduling - had pre-dated Hatton's construction, but it was this one that stuck and quickly became institutionalized in the sport. Of course, the first "Triple Crown" winner, Sir Barton, swept the races 11 years before they were known as any sort of cohesive series. The three races have been run at assorted distances, with some variation in dates, throughout their history. Their current distances were in place by the 1920s and the modern schedule that places the Kentucky Derby on the first Saturday in May, followed two weeks later by the Preakness, in turn followed in three weeks by the Belmont, was finally set in the 1960s. Filly classics are much less distinct. The Coaching Club American Oaks has been described as the only true U.S. classic for fillies. The New York Racing Association offers a triple for fillies, called the Triple Tiara, that originally consisted of the one-mile Acorn, the nine-furlong Mother Goose and the CCA Oaks, with a distance that has varied from 10 to 12 furlongs. That series recently was modified to drop the Acorn and add the 10-furlong Alabama at Saratoga. There also are filly equivalents of the Kentucky Derby,  Preakness and Belmont run the day before their male counterparts, the highest-rated of which is the nine-furlong Kentucky Oaks. In 1979, Davona Dale won both filly "triples," taking the Kentucky Oaks, Black-Eyed Susan, Acorn, Mother Goose and CCA Oaks during an eight-week span before finishing second in the Alabama. Click the “Past Performances” button for past performances for the Kentucky Derby, Preakness and Belmont since 2000. For a complete table of U.S. classic winners, click the U.S. Classic Winners button. Made with MAGIX